Saveetha University owes its birth to the vision and untiring efforts of our Founder Chancellor, Dr. N.M. Veeraiyan. It was granted University status under section 3 of the UGC Act 1956 on 18th March 2005. Dr.N.M.Veeraiyan is a visionary, a benefactor, a perfectionist who stands for quality and excellence in Education. Hailing from a small village called Nalligoundanoor in Erode District, TamilNadu, he strove hard to make a difference in higher education. His determination, diligence and integrity led him to create this unique educational enterprise comprising of seven landmark institutions.

He is an alumni of Loyola College and Madras Medical College. He graduated in Dentistry from Dental wing Madras Medical College in the year 1970. Ever since,he has been actively involved in private practice for the past 32 years and is very well known for his clinical acumen and handiwork. He established a 100 bedded multi specialty General Hospital in 1977 which was the first of its kind in Erode. The hospital was awarded the Best Hospital by the Rotary Club of Erode.

Saveetha Medical & Educational Trust was started in the year 1986 to provide medical relief, medical education and encourage research. Saveetha Dental College was founded on 18th November 1988, which is celebrated as the Founders Day every year, at 162, Poonamallee High Road, Chennai - 600 077. He believed in holistic education for all and thereafter, the paramedical colleges were started in the year 1992. The new millennium saw the establishment of Saveetha Engineering College in 2001 in a sprawling campus of more than 130 acres at Thandalam, Chennai. The ultimate recognition for his hard work and perseverance came in 2005, when the University Grants Commission visited our colleges and granted the Deemed University Status on 18th March, 2005. The wings of the University further widened with the establishment of College of Engineering & Technology in 2005, Saveetha Medical College & Hospital, Saveetha School of Management in 2008.

The University is accredited by NAAC and the ISO 9001:2000 Certification was awarded to the Saveetha Medical & Educational Trust to provide Medical/Paramedical education in the fields of Dentistry, Nursing, & Physiotherapy. Dr.N.M.Veeraiyan has served as a Member of TamilNadu Dental Council for a period of 5 years. He has also been elected a Fellow of International Honor Dental Organization, Pierre Fauchard Academy.He is a keen observer and a man of varied interests. His varied interest saw him enter the field of Hypnosis; he was the President of Hypnotic circle of Erode. He has conducted dental surgeries and dental extractions under hypnosis. His versatility in Tamil Language made him a co-author of Tamil Book Vaai, Pal Maruthuvam which got him award from the Government of TamilNadu.
Vice Chancellor

Dr.R.Rajagopal belongs to the 1964 BDS Batch of Dental Wing, Madras Medical College. He did his MDS in Orthodontics in the year 1982. He worked as Assistant Professor and promoted as Associate Professor of Orthodontics in 1994 at TamilNadu Government Dental College. In 1999 he joined as Professor & H.O.D. of Orthodontics and Director of PG Studies at Saveetha Dental College.

In 2005 he was nominated as Vice Chancellor of Saveetha University. He has published many articles in National and International Journals. He won best clinical paper award twice and Presidents Rolling Trophy of Indian Orthodontic Society. He made a Scientific Presentation at an International Association of Dental Research Conferences held at Hawaii, U.S.A. in 2004.


Officers of the University
The following shall be the officers of the Institute:
Finance Officer Mr.M.Saravanan

Board of Management
Dr.R.Rajagopal - Chairman
Prof.R.P.Kaushik - UGC Nominee
Former member ,UGC 
Former Director, Legal Studies
Prof. P.T. Manoharan, Former Vice-Chancellor,
University of Madras, DST Ramanna Fellow Sophisticated Analitical Instruments Facility & Development of Chemistry,Indian Institute of Technology, Chennai  - 600 036. - Member
Dr. Major D Raja,
Former Vice Chancellor, T.N.Dr. M.G.R.Medical University   - Member
Mr. V. Rajamanickam, 
Chartered Accountant - Member
Dr. Vinod Narayanan
Professor, Oral Surgery, SDC, SU - Member
Dr.M.F. Baig,
Dean of Faculties, SDC, SU. - Member
Dr.P. Jayakumar, 
Principal, SMC, SU - Member
Principal, SSE, SU - Member
Mr. N.M. Joothiswaroopan, Asst. Prof., (EEE) SSE, SU. - Member
Dr. SenthilnathanReader (Oral Surgery),SDC, SU
Mr. A.K. Jafarullah - Member

Finance Committee
Dr.R.Rajagopal - Chairman
Shri. K.K. Pandey,    Deputy  Director (IA), UGC, 
Member (Nominee of the UGC) 
Dr.Deepak Nallaswamy, Director of Academics, Saveetha University Member
Mr.V.Rajamanickam, Chartered Accountant Member
Mr.Saravanan,                     Finance Officer, SU Member
Mr. T. A.Varadharajan, Non Member Secretary

Academic Council


Dr.R.Rajagopal, Vice-Chancellor - Chairman

Dr.M.F. Baig Dean of Faculties, SDC, SU. - Member
Dr.Saveetha Rajesh Director of Admissions
Dr.Deepak Nallaswamy Director of Academics
Dr.A. Nalini Director - Education
Dr.Rajeswari Ramachandran Director - Research
Dr.Jeyakumari Jeevan Controller of Examinations
Dr.V. Thiyagarajan Addl. Controller of Examinations


Dr.T.Gunasagaran Principal, Saveetha Medical College & Hospital
Dr.N.D.Jayakumar Principal, Saveetha Dental College
Dr.Sharadha Ramesh Principal, Saveetha College of Nursing
Dr.P.Shankar Principal, School of Engineering 
Mr.V. Anandh Principal, Saveetha College of Physiotherapy
Dr. Bala Nageswara Rao Director, Saveetha School of Management
Prof.K.Elango Principal, Saveetha School of Law


Dr.P.Lakshmi Devi Prof. of OBG, SMC
Dr.N.Chakravarthi Prof. of  Surgery, SMC
Dr.K.Srinivasan Professor of ENT, SMC
Dr.P.Saraswathy Professor of Anatomy, SMC
Dr.Vinod Narayanan Prof. of Oral Surgery, SDC
Dr.Chandrasekar Prof. of Oral Pathology, SDC
Dr.Joseph John Prof. of Community Dentistry, SDC
Dr. Rajesh Asso.Prof.(Paediatrics) SMC

Dr.Vijayakumar Dept. of Anatomy, SMC
Dr.Prathiba Ramani Dept. of Oral Pathology, SDC
Mrs.S.Kalabharathi SCON


Mr.D.Krishnakumar, Advocate
Pandu Klix Plaza, 25-M, 1st Floor, New 330 (Old 168),
Thambu Chetty Street, Opposite to High Court,
Chennai - 600 001

Professor of Computer Science & Engineering,
Saveetha Engineering College, Thandalam


No.23, CIT Colony, 2nd Main Road,
Mylapore, Chennai - 600 004.


Dr. Seena

Radiologist, Global Hospital(Tamilnadu Hospital)
Cheran Nagarn, Perumbakkam, Chennai-600 100.

Dr.Usha Vishwanath
Prof. & HOD, OG, SRMC, Sri Ramachandra University